Health Education England

Frequently Asked Questions

Frequently asked questions about the East of England NHS Leadership Recognition Awards 2016 can be found below. 

What are the Leadership Recognition Awards?

The NHS Leadership Recognition Awards celebrate leaders at all levels and across all professions, those NHS staff who have ultimately improved people’s health and the public’s experience of the NHS, and who we are truly proud to work alongside.

What are the categories?
  • Leadership for Service Improvement & Innovation
  • Leading & Developing People Award
  • Inspirational Leader
  • Award for Leading Systems Transformation
  • Team Outstanding Achievement – Non-Clinical
  • Team Outstanding Achievement – Clinical
  • Excellence in Patient Experience
  • Emerging Leader
  • Inclusive Leader
  • Living the Values
  • Patient Leader
Who is eligible to be nominated?

Anybody who works in the NHS or provides government funded care from all disciplines.

How do I nominate myself or colleague?

All submissions are made through an electronic form, emailed to

What is the deadline for nominations to be completed by?

All entries must be submitted by 4pm on 30 September 2016 to

What are the descriptions/criteria for each award?

For full individual descriptions/criteria for each award category, please visit the main menu page for the Awards, and navigate to each individual award webpage.

Can you nominate a person for more than one award?

Yes, you can nominate a person for more than one award.

When will shortlisting take place?

Shortlisting will take place in the first two weeks of October.

How will I know if I have been shortlisted?

East of England Leadership Academy will be in touch with you if you are shortlisted in the judging process, towards the end of October.

Who are the judges?

Judges are a diverse group of NHS staff, people that are linked to the health service and representatives of patient forums.

Will nominees be notified of their nominations?

Yes. We will notify all nominees of their nominations and ask them to approve that they wish to be nominated before we proceed with it.

when will winners be notified? When and where will the awards ceremony take place?

Winners of each award will be announced at the East of England NHS Leadership Recognition Awards which is being held on 24th November 2016 at the Duxford Air Museum.

Who do I contact if i have questions?